ABAS Law Foundation

The ABAS Law Foundation is the 501(c)(3) educational and charitable counterpart to ABAS. The Foundation was established in 1997 to initiate and support educational and charitable works in Sacramento’s API community. Its activities have included multilingual voter assistance and workshops on voting, immigration and employment discrimination law. It also served as the fiscal agent for a $30,000 grant of cy prez funds for the benefit of CAPITAL, the Council of Asian Pacific Islanders Together for Advocacy and Leadership, to set up a technologically advanced CAPITAL website. The website is now found, with less software but more substantive content, at www.sactocapital.org.

The Foundation puts on a Wine & Food Tasting and the ABAS LF Invitational Golf Tournament. The Wine and Food Tasting is on Thursday, May 22, 2014, at the Pavilions from 6-8:30 p.m. The 26th Annual Golf Invitational will be held on Sunday, September 14, 2014, at the Turkey Creek Golf Club. These two fundraisers fund its major expenditure: scholarships to nurture future lawyers who show promise of being active and giving back to the community. More information about the ABAS Law Foundation and its scholarship is available on the Foundation’s web site.

ABAS and the ABAS Law Foundation thank the ABAS Presidents who have consistently underwritten the Foundation’s annual Wine Tasting over its 11-year history. The following have contributed through the Honor Roll of ABAS Presidents for the majority of these years:

Ruthe C. Ashley                                         Henry D. Nanjo
Jerry L. Chong                                           Jeffery M. Ogata
Yoshinori H. T. Himel                              Hon. Mamoru Sakuma
Michael K. Iwahiro                                   Irving T. Teranishi
Hon. Cheryl Chun Meegan                     Darrel “H” Woo
Mark T. Morodomi

ABAS Law Foundation 2012 Board being sworn in by the Chief Justice of California

The Foundation Board of Directors consists of:

Officers

President
Yoshinori H. T. Himel
yhimel@pobox.com
yoshinori.himel@usdoj.gov

Secretary
Henry D. Nanjo
hdnanjo@comcast.net

CFO/Treasurer
Jerilyn Paik
jeri@jplawoffice.com

Board Members

Michael K. Iwahiro
miwahiro@lawburton.com

Josh Kaizuka
josh@kvlawoffices.com

Brian J. Lim
blim@abaslawfoundation.org

Katie Konz
kkonz@abaslawfoundation.org

Latika Sharma
lsharma@wilkefleury.com

Comments are closed.